Did a Long Dissection of my First Emberwind Playthrough: From a Playtester

Zalinian

This is a copy-paste of my thread on the Emberwind Subreddit.

Me and my friends finished our first play-test! Here are some of the stories, opinions, and experiences. My hope is that this helps people come up with ideas, and that this contributes, ultimately, to the collective understanding of the community I foresee encompassing this game.
Background on me: I was a professional GM for 2 years and I do play tests for random stores and developers all over. I have GM'd since I can remember.
What we did:
  • Rules read-through of the Emberwind Hero Manual
  • Tier 2 Character Building
    • 1 Player did Aspects
    • 3 Players tried each Array within attribute building
      • House-ruled 2 Players with quick and dirty multi-class
      • 1 Druid, 1 Rogue, 1 Invoker/Ardent, 1 Spiritualist/Warrior
  • No Keepsakes beyond Emberwind Spark
  • Basic items
    • Weapon, Off-Hand, Ranged Weapon, Armour
      • 1 Custom Weapon 'created'/house-ruled
  • No Anchors, mostly combat with minor RP in between battles
  • Varying terrain and terrain mechanics uses/ideas each fight
  • 6 total combats
    • Every 2 combats was a milestone that returned one Tide-Turner Charge
  • House-Rules used and created
  • Questions and discussion points
Onto first thoughts and ideas.

Rules Read-Through